A Brief Chronology of Keira High
Keira High school is a comprehensive, co-educational school that has a long tradition of delivering quality education to the community of Wollongong. The school was established in 1917 as Wollongong Junior Secondary Technical school. In 1939 land was purchased near the Princes Highway, Fairy Meadow on which new school buildings were later built. In 1954 the school moved onto this site in Lysaght Street. Some years later, the school was renamed Keira Boys’ High School. In the early 1980’s, the State Government determined that the school would become co-educational with the first female students enrolling in 1984. The school was renamed Keira High School. In 1990, the school became a technology high school.
Today, Keira High School is proud of its rich history and traditions but looks to the future as a confident innovative and dynamic school.
The School Crest Explained
The school’s crest is a traditional shield designed and adopted in 1984 when the school became co-educational. It represents both strength and protection. The school’s motto since 1917, Excelsior, is the comparative form of Excelsus, Latin for high or lofty, Excelsior then means Reaching Higher. Longfellow, the American poet, provided Keira’s first teaching staff with the inspiration to adopt the word Excelsior as our motto. Longfellow wrote a poem on the incessant aspiration for youth to achieve, ending with the line, “A voice replied, ‘For up the height, Excelsior’”.